I Took Ovasitol. Here’s What Happened

A nutrition supplement called Ovasitol can really help women with PCOS? I’ll admit, I was skeptical too-until I tried it. I used to believe that most women with PCOS can get their needs met through food and didn’t need to take supplements.

It wasn’t until I started researching inositol for a chapter on supplements for my book PCOS: The Dietitian’s Guide, that I saw the evidence first-hand. Inositol, specifically myo and d-chiro inositol (DCI) is perhaps the most studied of supplements for PCOS. If you do a Pubmed search on Inositol and PCOS, you will see over 100 studies, all favorable for helping the condition.

What is Inositol?

Inositol is a pseudovitamin of the B vitamin family, which is like saying, it’s almost a vitamin.

Inositol is found in many foods such as fruit, vegetables, beans and buckwheat.

Inositol works as a secondary messenger to help regulate the activity of certain hormones like insulin and thyroid.

As I have described it before, women with PCOS have a defective doorbell on their cell “doors” or receptors that makes them more resistant to opening. As a result, the cell nucleus doesn’t hear the signal and doesn’t call your pancreas to secrete the appropriate amount of insulin needed. Taking inositol, in particular MYO, can fix the door bell and regulate insulin signaling so only the required amount of insulin gets secreted. Check out this video where I explain inositol’s actions in PCOS:

Most of the tissues in our bodies have a combination of MYO to DCI in a 40:1 ratio. MYO converts into DCI but in PCOS women, this conversion happens too quickly, depleting levels of MYO inositol. Taking a combination of MYO and DCI in the 40:1 ratio, like Ovasitol to mimic levels in tissues is ideal.

Taking too much DCI has been shown to actually worsen egg quality and ovulation.

OVASITOL PCOS

Free shipping to U.S & Canada!

Here’s what supplementing with MYO and DCI has been shown to help with:

Benefits of MYO and DCI for PCOS

 

Ok. I was sold. The research was overwhelmingly positive showing the benefits of inositol. I had to try it for myself to really see what it can do. Here’s my review of what happened with my PCOS when I took Ovasitol.

Curbed My Carb Cravings

Since I can remember, I have always loved sweets, especially baked goods like cupcakes, brownies and cookies. Much more so than my friends. I know I am not alone.

Carbohydrate cravings, whether it’s for sweets or salty foods, or just bread is very common among women with PCOS. Did you know that insulin is an appetite stimulant, driving the urge to eat? And that women with PCOS have been shown to have impaired levels of appetite regulating hormones? This could explain the intense carbohydrate cravings.

Within two weeks of taking Ovasitol, I noticed my carb cravings were diminished significantly. I no longer needed that sweet taste after a meal (even breakfast!) and could easily pass up a plate of brownies.

I felt like what most normal women, those blessed not to have PCOS, must feel on a daily basis.

I have heard from numerous other women with PCOS who notice a difference in carb cravings from taking Ovasitol as well. Have you?

Lowered My Risk for Diabetes

When I first started taking Ovasitol, I had my blood levels checked. My labs were all normal (yes, a healthy lifestyle and medications can do that!) but my hemoglobin A1c or HA1c was 5.4%.

HA1c measures the average glucose level in your blood for around 3 months. HA1c levels of 5.7-6.4% indicate pre-diabetes. Levels at 6.5% or higher indicate type 2 diabetes. (If you don’t know your HA1c levels, ask for it the next time you get your blood taken.)

I started taking the Ovasitol supplement which is a powder you can mix in a beverage or smoothie, twice a day (I love it in green unsweetened iced tea). After 3 months I had my blood levels rechecked. I was amazed! My HA1c dropped to 5.1%! Taking metformin had never brought it lower than 5.4%. My HDL cholesterol, the “good” type, increased (you want high levels of HDL). Wow, I thought, Ovasitol really does work! My doctor was also amazed.

I kept taking Ovasitol.

Three months later (after 6 months of using it), I had my levels checked again: My HA1c dropped to 4.9%. Amazing! I have now been taking Ovasitol for several years. My HA1c continues to hover around 5%.

Women with PCOS have been shown to have a 6.8 times higher prevalence of developing type 2 diabetes in middle age than women without PCOS. I truly feel that taking Ovasitol, along with a healthy diet, regular exercise, other supplements, and good sleep hygiene has helped to prevent diabetes.

Ovastiol question

Improved My Menstrual Cycle

Ovasitol has been shown to improve menstrual cycles in women with PCOS. For some, this can happen in as little as one month. I often suggest young women and teens consider taking Ovasitol first before jumping to birth control pills to regulate their cycles.

I am one of the few women with PCOS who gets regular periods. But they were heavy and somewhat long. I would often get fatigued from the blood and iron loss.  I did notice after a few months of taking Ovasitol, that my cycle shortened and flow was lighter. Bonus!

Cleared Up Acne

A few weeks in of taking Ovasitol I noticed that the stubborn ugly pipples on my chin and jaw line were going away and rarely come back now. Yeah! One of the many benefits of inositol is its ability to lower testosterone. Inositol has been shown to improve acne by lowering testosterone and androgens in women with PCOS. Thank goodness.

I know it sounds really great, almost too good to be true (and yes, full disclosure: we sell Ovasitol at the PCOS Nutrition Center because we believe in it), but you may have to try it for yourself to believe it too.

Do you take Ovasitol for PCOS? Share what your review with it!

 

Angela Grassi, MS, RDN, LDN is the founder of The PCOS Nutrition Center where she provides evidence-based nutrition information and coaching to women with PCOS. Angela is the author of several books on PCOS including PCOS: The Dietitian’s Guide, The PCOS Workbook: Your Guide to Complete Physical and Emotional Health, and The PCOS Nutrition Center Cookbook Recognized by Today’s Dietitian as one of the Top 10 Incredible Dietitian’s making a difference in 2014, Angela is the past recipient for The Outstanding Nutrition Entrepreneur Award, The Award in Excellence in Practice in Women’s Health and The Award for Excellence in Graduate Research, from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Having PCOS herself, Angela has been dedicated to advocacy, education, and research of the syndrome.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments (149)
  • Leigh Anne GeibL

    October 5, 2017 at 3:10 pm

    I love Ovasitol so much I run a group for it on Facebook. I discovered it at the Philly pcos symposium and it has been a blessing!!!

  • Angela Grassi

    October 5, 2017 at 6:10 pm

    That’s great Leigh Anne! Please share the facebook group with us!

  • Vickie

    October 5, 2017 at 7:58 pm

    Would Ovasitol help an older person that has had a complete hysterectomy, but still has other symptoms of PCOS?

  • Angela Grassi

    October 6, 2017 at 8:18 am

    Yes! Ovasitol can help with metabolic issues associated with PCOS like insulin, cholesterol, etc…

  • Leigh Anne Geib

    October 6, 2017 at 7:05 am

    Here’s the link to the group!

    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1613471728969117/

    It’s my own little way of being a PCOS advocate!

  • April

    October 7, 2017 at 9:32 am

    Would I be able to take Ovasitol while taking metformin? Pros or cons?

  • Angela Grassi

    October 8, 2017 at 9:00 am

    You can take ovasitol and metformin together. Here is more info about them: http://www.pcosnutrition.com/metforminandinositol/

  • Kawanda

    October 7, 2017 at 10:16 am

    Can ovasitol be taken with other prescriptions like my allergie medicine cetirizine and my hypertension medicine spironolactone? And how offten should this be taken?

  • Angela Grassi

    October 8, 2017 at 8:59 am

    Yes it can!

  • brenda litteral

    November 14, 2017 at 11:03 am

    My 13 year old has been diagnosed with pcos. She has been taking one packet of ovasitol for about a week. Should she take 2 packets a day instead. I started her on just 1 because of her age…

  • Angela Grassi

    November 14, 2017 at 11:06 am

    Yes, if she tolerates it well, she can take 2 packets per day. We have studies that have used insositol, the main ingredient in Ovasitol as young as 8 years of age with no problems.

  • brenda litteral

    November 14, 2017 at 3:02 pm

    Thanks Angela. She is also taking essential oils phytoestrogen. Is it okay to take the phytoestrogen and ovasitol in conjunction?

  • Angela Grassi

    November 15, 2017 at 9:15 am

    yes it is!

  • Paula Chandler

    November 18, 2017 at 8:41 pm

    My granddaughter is 15. She has PCOS, Hypothyroidism, and Hydradenitis Suppurativa. The Gastric Sleeve has been recommended for her. What supplements would you suggest to help her loose weight without this surgery. Would Ovasitol be safe for her?

  • Janine Mosley

    November 19, 2017 at 11:30 am

    Thanks for this article. I just ordered my first pack today. Looking forward to it. I’ve tried inositol in the past, but the digestive symptoms were unpleasant. I’m hoping Ovasitol doesn’t have the same effect. Fingers crossed it works for me as well as you describe. Looking forward to reduced carb cravings and taming the appetite, chin hair and acne are not fun at all.

  • Angela Grassi

    December 6, 2017 at 1:38 pm

    Great Janine! Let us know how you like it!

  • Rachel.Holloway777

    November 27, 2017 at 8:12 am

    I just ordered some today after much research. I am so happy to try it! I will keep everyone posted, from what I see its great!

  • Angela Grassi

    December 6, 2017 at 1:37 pm

    Let us know how you like it Rachel!

  • Alyssa Brawner

    December 14, 2017 at 4:24 pm

    Can you take Ovasitol with other supplements on your website?

  • Angela Grassi

    December 14, 2017 at 5:11 pm

    Hi Alyssa, Yes you can take them all together.

  • Alyssa Brawner

    December 14, 2017 at 9:53 pm

    I just found out I have pcos. My doctor told me to lose 20lbs so I could hopefully conceive. I have never had a regular cycle. What supplements do you suggest trying?

  • Angela Grassi

    December 27, 2017 at 9:11 pm

    Alyssa, definitely check out Ovasitol as well as the other supplements we sell on our website. If you are interested, we do provide a PCOS nutrition supplement consult. Contact us at info@PCOSnutrition.com if you’d like more information. http://www.pcosnutrition.com/store/

  • Lauren

    December 21, 2017 at 9:20 pm

    Is there any way we can get this in Australia? Alternatively, could you please recommend another brand that would more likely be available for international shipping? I have PCOS and am about to come off the pill, and after learning about this product I am much less nervous about it now! I am very keen to have it in my arsenal of PCOS fighting products.
    Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated 🙂

  • Angela Grassi

    December 27, 2017 at 9:10 pm

    Lauren, your best bet is to look for myo inositol.

  • AAH

    December 28, 2017 at 12:22 pm

    Just ordered, very optimistic! Two questions— 1) Any help with hirsutism? That’s my main problem. 2) I take Gabepentin and Piroxicam nightly — can I take this alongside those medications?

  • Angela Grassi

    December 28, 2017 at 2:11 pm

    Great Allison! Let us know how Ovasitol works for you. Yes, it has been shown to reduce testosterone and hirsutism. Yes, you can take with those meds.

  • Sandy

    December 29, 2017 at 1:19 pm

    My Gyno recently diagnosed me with PCOS, I already have a under active thyroid ( I see a different doctor for that) I personally feel that my diagnoses is wrong but have gone ahead and ordered Ovasitol and was wondering if it would have any bad side effects If you take this and don’t have PCOS? All my lab work I recently had done the only test that came back high was my TSH levels so that is why I think my GYNO is wrong about that diagnoses. Any info or advise would be appreciated, Thanks so much 🙂

  • Angela Grassi

    January 9, 2018 at 5:46 pm

    Ovasitol has been shown to help those with type 2 diabetes too. You can try it and see what happens. Trust your gut though if you feel you still may have PCOS, seek the opinion of another doctor.

  • Christine

    January 9, 2018 at 12:57 pm

    I was diagnosed in December 2017, I have always had regular periods. Never missed one actually. Only when I stopped using contraceptives in August, my periods stopped coming and I’ve only had one since then. I need help to get my periods back on track as I want to have my first child. I am currently taking vitex. Can I take them both together?

  • Angela Grassi

    January 9, 2018 at 5:41 pm

    Yes, both can be taken together Christine. Good luck!

  • Christine

    January 10, 2018 at 1:16 pm

    It was only by chance I found this website on PCOS 3 days ago. I have read the articles and now understand what I have been experiencing since age 15. I’m approaching 69.
    Many many thanks. No one talked about these things when I was growing up. I now realise there was a family history with my grandmother, mother and sister all having PCOS. My elder sister has diabetes and I am prediabetic. I’ve been taking Metformin and will up my dose of zinc and magnesium. Yesterday I ordered ovasitol.
    I retired from nursing last year so will be very interested in monitoring my HbA1c and lipids. My main concern is to avoid diabetes and heart disease.
    Again thank you. I’ll be reading your articles with great interest.

  • Angela Grassi

    January 10, 2018 at 1:46 pm

    So happy you found us Christine!

  • Mel

    January 11, 2018 at 7:52 pm

    Hi ,
    i am on 2nd montb ovasitol. it has helped me ovulate as i take bbtand opk and my cycle is now 31 days. i got 2 31 day cycles so far in my 2 months using it. my only issue or concern is that my period seems shorter. i would bleed for 1.5 days and then by end of 2nd day my cycle looks like its ending. Is this normal. without ovasitol i have long irregular cycles with 3 to 5 days periods.

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:38 pm

    Great to hear Mel!

  • Rachel Yorgason

    January 12, 2018 at 1:33 pm

    So I was diagnosed with PCOS a month ago, and live a very active and healthy lifestyle. My mom has PCOS, and birth control is what was able to help her conceive as soon as she went off. I started birth control a month ago, knowing it helped my mom. is it a good idea to still take the birth control and Ovasitol? Or should I just do one or the other?

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:37 pm

    Hi Rachel, good question. It depends on your goals. Many doctors are now using ovasitol in their teen patients first to see if they get a regular cycle. If there are other reasons you are on the pill (for birth control or to control symptoms of PCOS like acne), you may still want to take it. You can take both the pill and ovasitol together. Ovasitol can still work to lower insulin and decrease cravings.

  • Priti

    January 19, 2018 at 11:33 pm

    I am diagnosed with PCOS at the age of 18 yrs, now am 32 and its causing so many health problems. I am losing hair so much that my scalp is very visible. I am taking metformin, vestruda and other multivitamins. Will Ovasitol help me?

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:33 pm

    It may. Talk to your doctor. There could be many reasons for hair loss such as iron loss and hypothyroid.

  • sarah jane cerqua

    January 21, 2018 at 1:01 pm

    why wont you ship to the UK and other countries – other sellers of this product do so i am wondering why you will only ship to canada and america

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:31 pm

    It’s because of customs and taxes. You can find Ovasitol in Europe, we just don’t sell it.

  • Anu

    January 23, 2018 at 5:31 pm

    Can we take Ovasitol and drink 2-3 cups spearmint tea?

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:28 pm

    Yes! A great way to get more antioxidants. Here’s a post about beverages for PCOS and benefits of spearmint tea http://www.pcosnutrition.com/beverages/

  • Marsha

    January 31, 2018 at 10:42 pm

    I normally get my period every 35-40 days. I started taking Ovasitol 2 weeks ago and now my period is late. Has anyone else had the same issue?? I’m wondering if I could be pregnant already??

  • Angela Grassi

    February 2, 2018 at 1:07 pm

    Marsha, Ovasitol has myo inositol and d-chiro inositol which can improve ovulation. It is possible that you are pregnant (fingers crossed!) but other factors may have delayed your period as well such as stress, lack of sleep, diet or exercise changes.

  • mackenzie.ashton15

    February 1, 2018 at 10:15 pm

    Is Ovasitol safe to take along with a prenatal vitamin?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 2, 2018 at 1:06 pm

    yes it is!

  • Shauna

    February 8, 2018 at 9:16 am

    Hi there,
    Is it safe to take Ovasitol and Berberine together or is one better than another for PCOS?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 8, 2018 at 9:38 am

    Yes, you can take berberine and ovasitol together.

  • Anu

    February 8, 2018 at 10:15 am

    Is it safe to take Ovasitol along with progesterone cream?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 8, 2018 at 10:26 am

    Yes, ovasitol is a pseusdovitamin of the vitamin B family and is safe to take with progesterone cream.

  • Clarissa

    February 10, 2018 at 6:32 pm

    Hi I have the implant to help control my periods and stop the progression of my Endometriosis. I can’t stop taking it. Can I still take Ovasitol while having the implant? Will either of them be less effective because of taking it? Thanks so much!

  • Angela Grassi

    February 11, 2018 at 7:43 pm

    yes, you can take ovasitol with an implant. Ovasitol may still help to reduce cravings and metabolic issues.

  • Racine

    February 10, 2018 at 9:20 pm

    I’m in a similar situation to what Paula Chandler below mentioned about her granddaughter – curious in knowing as well. Also, are there any side effects? Metformin makes me very nauseous.

  • Angela Grassi

    February 11, 2018 at 7:45 pm

    Ovasitol is safe and very well tolerated. No supplement is a weight loss pill. Changes to diet and lifestyle need to be made.

  • Stacy

    February 13, 2018 at 1:16 pm

    I have PCOS and have also had a hysterectomy. Is it safe to take this supplement with estradiol? I’m currently using spironolactone but would like to find something safer. I have high testosterone due to it with excess hair and acne but am not insulin resistant. Thank you

  • Angela Grassi

    February 14, 2018 at 2:13 pm

    Yes, you can take Ovasitol if you had a hysterectomy. It has been shown to lower testosterone but may not to the degree of spironolactone.

  • Anil

    February 16, 2018 at 10:40 am

    Hi Angela,

    My wife was diagnosed with PCOS last week by Gyno. She had only four periods last year. She was referred to a hospital for further treatment, and currently we are in the waiting list and it may take over a month to get started with the treatment.

    She does not have insulin resistance, and all her harmone levels are normal. She does not have high levels of male harmones either. She was diagnosed with PCOS by Gyno through Ultra Sound. Her PCOS could very well be because of genetic reasons as her grand mother also had infrequent periods.

    SInce Ovasitol mainly improves body’s/cell’s response to Glucose in the blood, for someone having PCOS not because of insulin resistance, would Ovasitol still help?

    Thanks.

  • Angela Grassi

    February 20, 2018 at 9:44 am

    Yes, ovasitol has been shown to improve menstrual cycles.

  • Malar

    February 20, 2018 at 8:28 am

    How I can buy this?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 20, 2018 at 9:43 am

    We sell Ovasitol in both canister and packets on our website with free shipping to orders in the US or Canada http://www.pcosnutrition.com/product/ovasitol/

  • Aubrey

    February 21, 2018 at 1:04 am

    I was just diagnosed with PCOS I am very lean but have mad cravings and bad acne and struggle with infertility and cysts. It looks like this could help but my question is, I have MTHFR which means you don’t process b vitamins like a normal person. Would ovasitol still work for me?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 22, 2018 at 9:15 pm

    Hi Aubrey, yes, Ovasitol is free of folic acid. It is pure inositol.

  • Lisa

    March 1, 2018 at 6:44 pm

    Hello,
    Can I mix Ovasitol with any beverage? Coffee? Tea? Orange Juice or does it have to be water only? Will it still be as effective?

    Thank you

  • Angela Grassi

    March 4, 2018 at 9:44 pm

    Yes, we don’t recommend it with carbonated beverages though (think science volcano experiment)

  • Naomi

    March 4, 2018 at 9:07 pm

    I was diagnosed with PCOS in 2011 during my freshman year in college. I’ve struggled with my weight since before then. I’m looking to buy Ovasitol to help regulate my periods. I’ve been going to the gym and trying to eat healthy. What’s the best diet to follow with taking this and spironolactone?

  • Angela Grassi

    March 4, 2018 at 9:41 pm

    Hi Naomi, Ovasitol can help manage your cravings so you can make better food choices. As for the best diet, we recommend focusing on anti-inflammatory foods. Need recipes and a meal plan? Our PCOS Nutrition Center Cookbook has 100 of them along with a 4-week sample meal plan. http://www.pcosnutrition.com/product/cookbook/

  • Mel

    March 7, 2018 at 6:09 am

    Hi I have been taking ovasitol for about 3 months now. my cycle comes every month which i am grateful for. this month i tested my progeaterone it came back 10.5 so i believe I ovulated. would you say so with that figure?
    my main issue is my actual flow. its brown with some clots but not actaul red blood. very light could get away with liners if i want. what could be the issue? can someone help me understand?

  • Elaine

    March 17, 2018 at 1:37 am

    Can Ovasitol help someone who has PCOS and is in menopause?

  • Angela Grassi

    March 17, 2018 at 8:02 am

    Yes, it can still target the metabolic aspects related to PCOS such as insulin resistance, cholesterol, inflammation and blood pressure.

  • Giselle Constantine

    March 17, 2018 at 11:19 pm

    What if I missed a few days? Will it affect me having a menstrual cycle?

  • Angela Grassi

    March 27, 2018 at 3:46 pm

    No, it shouldn’t.

  • Arpita Das

    March 18, 2018 at 10:30 pm

    I don’t have my period monthly it skips a lot on 2016 I was diagnosed with PCOD… Before I used to have irregular period but now if I take medicine I have otherwise if I don’t then I don’t have. Can I take Ovisitol for regulating my period? And for how many months should I take this?

  • Angela Grassi

    March 27, 2018 at 3:46 pm

    Yes, Ovasitol has been shown to regulate periods. It is sold in a 3 month supply because that’s usually the time it takes to start working. Good luck!

  • Jenny

    March 22, 2018 at 12:16 pm

    Are there any side effects? I’m very interested in ordering but am scared of negative effects.

  • Angela Grassi

    March 27, 2018 at 3:44 pm

    No, it’s really well tolerated. Start with one dose a day for the first week. Check out the Ovasitol facebook group (link at top of comments).

  • Anu

    March 26, 2018 at 8:31 pm

    Can we take Ovasitol and NAC supplement together? I bought NAC from your store. On the bottle it says to take one per day (ie 900mg). I have high testosterone from my recent blood work. Will NAC help me along with Ovasitol? How many times should I have NAC once per day or twice per day?

  • Angela Grassi

    March 27, 2018 at 3:40 pm

    Yes, you can take Ovasitol and NAC. Recommended dosage for NAC is 1.8 to 3 mg per day, so two to three capsules daily.

  • Rao

    March 27, 2018 at 3:04 pm

    Can Ovasitol be used for a long time?

  • Angela Grassi

    March 27, 2018 at 3:39 pm

    Yes, Ovasitol is safe for long-term use.

  • Lina

    March 28, 2018 at 12:17 pm

    Hello,

    Is it safe to take this supplement during pregnancy?

  • Angela Grassi

    April 2, 2018 at 6:12 pm

    yes, in fact, taking Ovasitol may prevent gestational diabetes in pregnancy. Here is an article about it http://www.pcosnutrition.com/inositols-decrease-gestational-diabetes-pcos-women/

  • Mel

    March 29, 2018 at 5:37 pm

    Hi
    you didnt reply to mr so i’m asking again……. I have been taking ovasitol for about 3 months now. my cycle comes every month which i am grateful for. this month i tested my progeaterone it came back 10.5 so i believe I ovulated. would you say so with that figure?
    my main issue is my actual flow. its brown with some clots but not actaul red blood. very light could get away with liners if i want. what could be the issue? can someone help me understand?

  • Angela Grassi

    April 2, 2018 at 6:11 pm

    Yes Mel, it does sound like you ovulated.

  • Prethi

    April 1, 2018 at 6:26 pm

    What is the best supplement to take along with Ovasitol to lower testosterones? Berberine Plus or N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC)?

  • Angela Grassi

    April 2, 2018 at 6:07 pm

    Good question Prethi. So far the research shows NAC can lower testosterone better than berberine. Zinc is also good for lowering testosterone too.

  • Brandy

    April 4, 2018 at 4:04 pm

    I am waiting for mine to arrive in the mail. Hoping it might help with some of my fatigue symptoms.

  • Angela Grassi

    April 5, 2018 at 2:48 pm

    Great! Let us know how it works for you.

  • Brittany

    April 7, 2018 at 10:23 am

    Is there a recommendation on when to start taking during your cycle? Do you wait till CD1? I’m currently on CD21 with my last cycle being 55 days and ovulation around CD43-44.

  • Angela Grassi

    April 8, 2018 at 7:00 am

    You can take ovasitol at any time during your cycle.

  • Nagalakshmi

    April 10, 2018 at 5:45 am

    Taking ovasitol Before food / after food ? Which is effective? I am 44 female, I didn’t get the menstrual cycle for the past three months. Will I start ovulating again? Is it possible to conceive at this age after using ovasitol?

  • Angela Grassi

    April 10, 2018 at 11:40 am

    Taking it with food will work best. Yes, ovasitol does improve hormone balance and ovulation so you could get pregnant at age 44. We also see that as women with PCOS age, menstrual cycles start to regulate, also increasing the chances of conceiving.

  • Susan

    April 11, 2018 at 5:10 pm

    Would Ovasitol be effective to take along with birth control? I just recently got the birth control implant to reduce the heaviness and duration of my cycle, Also, I am on Metformin and Jardiance as insulin regulators for my Insulin resistance due to PCOS.

  • Angela Grassi

    April 17, 2018 at 9:54 am

    yes you can take ovasitol with these.

  • Jessie

    April 12, 2018 at 9:08 pm

    I have struggled with PCOS all my life, as well as insulin resistance and hormone problems. My doctor first put me on birth control pills for a couple years to help regulate my periods, however I ended up gaining weight and later having surgery to remove a cyst that was growing due to the birth control. Afterwards, I was referred to an endocrinologist because of my insulin resistance and hormone problems (acne, scarring, hair growth, the usual), who then prescribed me with Metformin, also something I took for a few years. While Metformin helped me to regulate my periods and keep my system under control, I still found myself slowly gaining weight and, being as strong as it is, feeling nauseous and dizzy most of the time. At the beginning of January, I stopped taking Metformin, which resulted in me not having a period for January, February, and most of March. I found out about Inositol and Ovasitol and decided to order it. When I had started it I had begun some light spotting a day before, and after a few days of taking Ovasitol at the recommended doses, it has turned into medium to occasionally heavy bleeding. I am now about to end week 4 of taking Ovasitol, and I am still bleeding with a medium flow. I don’t want to give it up, as it is my last resort, and because of the number of positive reviews, I have read about I really want this to work. I know that a lot of people have said that they have not seen results until a month and a half in, therefore I am willing to at least keep going until I finish the supplement. Has anyone else experienced this long bleeding, and should I just stay patient and wait for this to do its job? I also take folic acid, vitamin D, and vitamin B supplements, could these have an effect on the Ovasitol? Thank you so much!

  • Angela Grassi

    April 17, 2018 at 9:55 am

    It sounds as if your cycle is trying to regulate itself. I would recommend continuing for a full 3 months to see.

  • Brenda H

    April 13, 2018 at 6:19 pm

    Hi I am trying to get pregnant for like 5 months now. I haven’t had a period in 3 months and not pregnant will it help jump start my period, will it help me lower my testosterone levels? will it help get my pesky mustache diminish? Please help

  • Nazlia Zaoud

    April 13, 2018 at 7:55 pm

    I am taking Ovasitol twice a day and doctors told im preganant.Just wondering do i continue to take it or stop during pregnancy please?

  • Angela Grassi

    April 17, 2018 at 9:54 am

    Congratulations! You will have to ask your doctor about whether you should continue Ovasitol in pregnancy. There is evidence that it can reduce gestational diabetes: http://www.pcosnutrition.com/inositols-decrease-gestational-diabetes-pcos-women/

  • Brenda H

    April 17, 2018 at 9:35 am

    Hi I am trying to get pregnant for like 5 months now. I haven’t had a period in 3 months and not pregnant will it help jump start my period, will it help me lower my testosterone levels? will it help get my pesky mustache diminish? Please help

  • Angela Grassi

    April 17, 2018 at 9:40 am

    yes, yes, and yes! Give it a try. Ovasitol does regulate cycles, lower testosterone and improve egg quality and ovulation.

  • Brenda H

    April 17, 2018 at 3:18 pm

    Can I mix it with clomid?

  • Angela Grassi

    April 17, 2018 at 6:35 pm

    yes you can take ovasitol and clomid at the same time.

  • Marta

    April 17, 2018 at 6:05 pm

    I’ve been taking Ovasitol for my PCOS for about 7 months. I was just looking at my period tracker app and for the past 8 years I’ve oscillated between 35 – 60 days between periods, super erratic. After 2 months of ovasitol things started to change, and over the past 5 months it’s now 24 – 33 days. I’ve never had that consistency! I haven’t done any official testing, but I can offer that as field research. That alone is enough for me to keep taking it. I used to take just Inositol powder, but didn’t have anything like the results I get with Ovasitol.

  • Angela Grassi

    April 17, 2018 at 6:35 pm

    Great to hear Marta! Thanks for sharing. Ovasitol has both Myo and a little DCI that mimics the ratio that is in the body. Glad it works well for you!

  • Kelsey T

    April 17, 2018 at 9:18 pm

    I’m very interested in taking this to help with my PCOS. Do you know if it’s compatible with breastfeeding? Thanks!

  • Angela Grassi

    April 18, 2018 at 9:16 am

    Yes it is but please discuss with your doctor.

  • Debbie Lark

    April 17, 2018 at 10:25 pm

    What is the best inositol to take if you are just insulin resistant? Been on Metformin for 15 years!!!! I feel like you just explained it doesn’t’t do much for my insulin resistance!!!! Thanks in advance!!!!

  • Angela Grassi

    April 18, 2018 at 9:16 am

    You want to look for a supplement that has both MYO and D-chiro inositol in a 40:1 ratio. We like Ovasitol because it has this ratio and is very high quality: http://www.pcosnutrition.com/product/ovasitol/

  • Melanie

    April 18, 2018 at 8:29 am

    Hi! Wondering if taking this in conjunction with birth control and then going off birth control would allow my period to regulate? My doctor gave me birth control as a solution without much info but lately feel so bloated and can’t lose weight even though I eat well and have exercised regularly for years.

  • Angela Grassi

    April 18, 2018 at 9:15 am

    You would have to discuss options with your doctor. Birth control pills do have some risks: http://www.pcosnutrition.com/risks-of-birth-control-for-pcos/

    Ovasitol works to lower insulin levels and restore periods. It can be taken with birth control.

  • Brenda H

    April 18, 2018 at 10:37 pm

    How long does ovasitol take to in effect?

  • Angela Grassi

    April 19, 2018 at 8:31 am

    Every woman is different. It is recommended to do the full 3 months to see all the benefits but some women see a difference in cravings in as little as 1 week!

  • Sheila

    April 20, 2018 at 2:12 am

    Hi! I finished a 3 month supply of Ovasitol and while my cravings diminished, I became more dehydrated (drank plenty of water) to the point my ears would “ring”. Over the years dealing with PCOS I only try 1 new thing at a time. I stopped Ovasotol for a couple of months ( no other PCOS “remedy”) restarted Ovasitol and the same thing happened by the end of the first week. I couldn’t tolerate metformin, but am wondering why the thirst/ dehydration and ringing may have been a side effect. I only took 1 packet in the am daily. Thank you!

  • Angela Grassi

    May 18, 2018 at 4:09 pm

    Hmm…we haven’t heard of this side effect. Thanks for sharing.

  • Sam

    April 24, 2018 at 9:35 pm

    Hi, I don’t have PCOS but I have had irregular periods for the past 8 months since getting off of bc and trying to conceive (24-40 day cycles). A friend of mine with PCOS suggested I try ovasitol to help regulate and help me conceive. Is it ok to use if I don’t have PCOS/thyroid issues?

  • Angela Grassi

    May 18, 2018 at 4:08 pm

    yes!

  • Tanna

    May 2, 2018 at 4:57 pm

    I’ve been on Ovasitol for only 3 days. I went to the grocery store and for the first time since I can remember, I had no overwhelming desire to buy a candy bar as I checked out! It may not seem like much, but it was a major moment for me!

  • Angela Grassi

    May 18, 2018 at 4:08 pm

    Great! Ovasitol does work to reduce cravings!

  • Megan Bigelow

    May 2, 2018 at 9:35 pm

    I’ve been using Ovasitol and off birth control for 3 months now and still haven’t had a period and breakouts are nonstop on my face. I don’t know what else to do other than get back on birth control to balance everything out.

  • Angela Grassi

    May 18, 2018 at 4:07 pm

    Megan, every woman is different. You can try adding in zinc to help with acne: http://www.pcosnutrition.com/zinc-for-pcos/

  • Taylor Towler

    May 9, 2018 at 11:17 am

    Does this help with stopping periods that are long and regulate them? My periods are 2 months long!

  • Angela Grassi

    May 18, 2018 at 4:04 pm

    yes, Ovasitol improves menstrual regularity and may shorten cycles.

  • Laura p

    May 10, 2018 at 7:07 pm

    I just bought Ovasitol, I read you’ve been taking it for years, is it something I should continue taking? I was hoping a first three month dose was going to help regulate me?

  • Angela Grassi

    May 18, 2018 at 4:03 pm

    Everyone is different but if you stop right after 3 months, symptoms may return.

  • Kathleen

    May 12, 2018 at 4:40 am

    Hi,
    My problem is that once I’m not on the pill I don’t menstruate. And after few months I get oily and acne too. Does this help me to at least see periods ? Also , which one do you suggest the inositol or ovasitol? Thanks in advance

  • Angela Grassi

    May 18, 2018 at 4:03 pm

    yes, this improves menstrual regulation. We recommend (and sell) Ovasitol because its a superior product and has the ideal combined ratio of Myo to DCI

  • Monifa

    May 13, 2018 at 2:11 pm

    I’ve been diagnosed with PCOS since I was 21 I’m now 27 and I’m in a lot of pcos groups on Facebook and they talk about this product all the time and I really would like to try it in place of taking birth control because it makes me so nauseous I hope to have good results as far as my body regulating my menstrual cycle on its own.

  • Jenn

    May 14, 2018 at 10:14 pm

    Can you take if you have fibroids? Will it affect fibroids from increasing?

  • Angela Grassi

    May 18, 2018 at 4:02 pm

    yes you can!

  • Ashley

    May 16, 2018 at 4:36 pm

    I just placed my order. I’ve been diagnosed with PCOS about 10 years ago. I have recently had an ablation. Will taking this make my cycle come back? I’m hoping this well help me with all my other side effects.( acne, facial hair, unexplained weight gain, cholesterol and insulin issues). Thanks!

  • Angela Grassi

    May 18, 2018 at 4:02 pm

    Great! Let us know how it helps you! No, it should not resume your cycles after ablation.

  • CRP

    May 20, 2018 at 9:12 am

    Hi,

    I am 56yrs old. I was diagnosed with PCOS over 20yrs ago. I have idiopathic edema, which I found out it has to do with luteinizing hormone, along with the weight gain and facial hair. Also, I haven’t had a period in 3yrs GREAT. So, will Ovasitol help with these problems? Lastly will it change me from having periods? Not at all looking to become pregnant.

    Thank You

  • Angela Grassi

    May 20, 2018 at 2:29 pm

    Ovasitol hasn’t been shown to help with edema, but can restore hormone balance by decreasing androgens and LH levels. This means it can help with facial hair. If you are in menopause, this will not cause you to resume cycles.

  • Lindsey

    May 26, 2018 at 2:16 pm

    Is this safe with Femara?

  • Angela Grassi

    May 28, 2018 at 1:35 pm

    yes, ovasitol is safe with femara

  • Nagalakshmi

    May 27, 2018 at 12:19 am

    I took ovasitol for 2 days. On the 3 day I got the periods returned after 3 months. Then I took continuously for 20 days and on the 21 day I got periods again in the same month. Will I take again?

  • Becky

    June 2, 2018 at 10:50 pm

    Would the DCI bother me if I’ve been told by my doctor that I don’t have diabetes. I do have PCOS and I the irregular periods, facial hair and stubborn weight gain.

  • Angela Grassi

    June 11, 2018 at 4:33 pm

    Currently the research shows that taking Myo and DCI in the ideal 40:1 ratio to mimic levels in the body is ideal.

  • Felicia

    June 10, 2018 at 11:11 pm

    Hi Angela

    I’ve been reading up on some literature for inositol use for pcos. Recent research has shown that overweight and obese women with pcos and insulin resistance should take 500 mg of the d chiro inositol rather than the 50 mg provided in Ovasitol.

    I was wondering what your take was on this as I’ve been taking Ovasitol for a long time. My insulin levels have decreased but menstruation has not regulated.

  • Angela Grassi

    June 22, 2018 at 12:24 pm

    This graph https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5463048/table/T1/?report=objectonly
    is part of a review paper that lists the research with MI and DCI and the combination. I think the best information is that yes, studies with DCI alone have dosed higher (500 mg or more), but the combination studies have used 50mg DCI, and the 40:1 combination seems to work better than either MI or DCI alone. I wouldn’t advise the higher DCI dose, along with 4g MI per day. Higher levels of DCI have been shown to worsen egg quality.

    I hope this helps.

  • meghan

    June 24, 2018 at 10:47 am

    All of my hormone levels came back normal but I do not ovulate and have irregular periods. My Ultrasound showed I have a small strand of follicles. The doc prescribe Provera to help start a period. Is it safe to take P0rovera and Ovasitol?

  • Angela Grassi

    June 24, 2018 at 10:59 am

    yes, ovasitol may help to bring back a period. It can be taken with provera

  • KtM

    June 27, 2018 at 3:35 pm

    Hey! I was thinking about ordering Ovasitol packets. Can they be taken along with a RX for Estrogen and Prometrium? Thanks in advance!

  • Angela Grassi

    July 8, 2018 at 7:29 am

    yes it can!

  • Shan

    July 7, 2018 at 9:07 pm

    I was diagnosed with pcos in my teenage years, I am lean pcos, all my blood works are normal. I do not have insulin resistance or high testosterone. I have started taking ovasitol over a month now and I have been bleeding ever since. I still continue to see what happens within 3 months but I am not so certain about this anymore. Should I stop?

  • Angela Grassi

    July 8, 2018 at 7:25 am

    I have not heard of this happening. Women with PCOS tend to have irregular and long cycles. Hard to say if Ovasitol but I would suggest stopping for a month to see what happens.

  • Holly

    July 9, 2018 at 12:06 pm

    Here is the information about ovistol that I was talking to you about. Read it and let me know your thoughts!!!

  • Gina Valdivia

    July 14, 2018 at 10:37 am

    My daughter is 14 and diagnosed with PCOS. She was prescribed contraceptive pills and metformin. Can she tale Ovasitol even is she is taking the pills? Thanks,

  • Angela Grassi

    July 15, 2018 at 3:18 pm

    yes, you can take ovasitol and oral contraceptives

Get Our Free Guide To Eating Well With PCOS

+ Recipes and PCOS Nutrition Tips
PCOS Nutrition Center

Sign Up!

Get Our Free Guide To Eating Well With PCOS

+ Recipes and PCOS Nutrition Tips
PCOS Nutrition Center