I Took Ovasitol. Here’s What Happened

A nutrition supplement called Ovasitol can really help women with PCOS? I’ll admit, I was skeptical too-until I tried it. I used to believe that most women with PCOS can get their needs met through food and didn’t need to take supplements.

It wasn’t until I started researching inositol for a chapter on supplements for my book PCOS: The Dietitian’s Guide, that I saw the evidence first-hand. Inositol, specifically myo and d-chiro inositol (DCI) is perhaps the most studied of supplements for PCOS. If you do a Pubmed search on Inositol and PCOS, you will see over 100 studies, all favorable for helping the condition.

What is Inositol?

Inositol is a pseudovitamin of the B vitamin family, which is like saying, it’s almost a vitamin.

Inositol is found in many foods such as fruit, vegetables, beans and buckwheat.

Inositol works as a secondary messenger to help regulate the activity of certain hormones like insulin and thyroid.

As I have described it before, women with PCOS have a defective doorbell on their cell “doors” or receptors that makes them more resistant to opening. As a result, the cell nucleus doesn’t hear the signal and doesn’t call your pancreas to secrete the appropriate amount of insulin needed. Taking inositol, in particular MYO, can fix the door bell and regulate insulin signaling so only the required amount of insulin gets secreted. Check out this video where I explain inositol’s actions in PCOS:

Most of the tissues in our bodies have a combination of MYO to DCI in a 40:1 ratio. MYO converts into DCI but in PCOS women, this conversion happens too quickly, depleting levels of MYO inositol. Taking a combination of MYO and DCI in the 40:1 ratio, like Ovasitol to mimic levels in tissues is ideal.

Taking too much DCI has been shown to actually worsen egg quality and ovulation.


Free shipping to U.S & Canada!

Here’s what supplementing with MYO and DCI has been shown to help with:

Benefits of MYO and DCI for PCOS


Ok. I was sold. The research was overwhelmingly positive showing the benefits of inositol. I had to try it for myself to really see what it can do. Here’s my review of what happened with my PCOS when I took Ovasitol.

Curbed My Carb Cravings

Since I can remember, I have always loved sweets, especially baked goods like cupcakes, brownies and cookies. Much more so than my friends. I know I am not alone.

Carbohydrate cravings, whether it’s for sweets or salty foods, or just bread is very common among women with PCOS. Did you know that insulin is an appetite stimulant, driving the urge to eat? And that women with PCOS have been shown to have impaired levels of appetite regulating hormones? This could explain the intense carbohydrate cravings.

Within two weeks of taking Ovasitol, I noticed my carb cravings were diminished significantly. I no longer needed that sweet taste after a meal (even breakfast!) and could easily pass up a plate of brownies.

I felt like what most normal women, those blessed not to have PCOS, must feel on a daily basis.

I have heard from numerous other women with PCOS who notice a difference in carb cravings from taking Ovasitol as well. Have you?

Lowered My Risk for Diabetes

When I first started taking Ovasitol, I had my blood levels checked. My labs were all normal (yes, a healthy lifestyle and medications can do that!) but my hemoglobin A1c or HA1c was 5.4%.

HA1c measures the average glucose level in your blood for around 3 months. HA1c levels of 5.7-6.4% indicate pre-diabetes. Levels at 6.5% or higher indicate type 2 diabetes. (If you don’t know your HA1c levels, ask for it the next time you get your blood taken.)

I started taking the Ovasitol supplement which is a powder you can mix in a beverage or smoothie, twice a day (I love it in green unsweetened iced tea). After 3 months I had my blood levels rechecked. I was amazed! My HA1c dropped to 5.1%! Taking metformin had never brought it lower than 5.4%. My HDL cholesterol, the “good” type, increased (you want high levels of HDL). Wow, I thought, Ovasitol really does work! My doctor was also amazed.

I kept taking Ovasitol.

Three months later (after 6 months of using it), I had my levels checked again: My HA1c dropped to 4.9%. Amazing! I have now been taking Ovasitol for several years. My HA1c continues to hover around 5%.

Women with PCOS have been shown to have a 6.8 times higher prevalence of developing type 2 diabetes in middle age than women without PCOS. I truly feel that taking Ovasitol, along with a healthy diet, regular exercise, other supplements, and good sleep hygiene has helped to prevent diabetes.

Improved My Menstrual Cycle

Ovasitol has been shown to improve menstrual cycles in women with PCOS. For some, this can happen in as little as one month. I often suggest young women and teens consider taking Ovasitol first before jumping to birth control pills to regulate their cycles.

I am one of the few women with PCOS who gets regular periods. But they were heavy and somewhat long. I would often get fatigued from the blood and iron loss.  I did notice after a few months of taking Ovasitol, that my cycle shortened and flow was lighter. Bonus!

Cleared Up Acne

A few weeks in of taking Ovasitol I noticed that the stubborn ugly pipples on my chin and jaw line were going away and rarely come back now. Yeah! One of the many benefits of inositol is its ability to lower testosterone. Inositol has been shown to improve acne by lowering testosterone and androgens in women with PCOS. Thank goodness.

I know it sounds really great, almost too good to be true (and yes, full disclosure: we sell Ovasitol at the PCOS Nutrition Center because we believe in it), but you may have to try it for yourself to believe it too.

Do you take Ovasitol for PCOS? Share what your review with it!


Angela Grassi, MS, RDN, LDN is the founder of The PCOS Nutrition Center where she provides evidence-based nutrition information and coaching to women with PCOS. Angela is the author of several books on PCOS including PCOS: The Dietitian’s Guide, The PCOS Workbook: Your Guide to Complete Physical and Emotional Health, and The PCOS Nutrition Center Cookbook Recognized by Today’s Dietitian as one of the Top 10 Incredible Dietitian’s making a difference in 2014, Angela is the past recipient for The Outstanding Nutrition Entrepreneur Award, The Award in Excellence in Practice in Women’s Health and The Award for Excellence in Graduate Research, from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Having PCOS herself, Angela has been dedicated to advocacy, education, and research of the syndrome.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments (69)
  • Leigh Anne GeibL

    October 5, 2017 at 3:10 pm

    I love Ovasitol so much I run a group for it on Facebook. I discovered it at the Philly pcos symposium and it has been a blessing!!!

  • Angela Grassi

    October 5, 2017 at 6:10 pm

    That’s great Leigh Anne! Please share the facebook group with us!

  • Vickie

    October 5, 2017 at 7:58 pm

    Would Ovasitol help an older person that has had a complete hysterectomy, but still has other symptoms of PCOS?

  • Angela Grassi

    October 6, 2017 at 8:18 am

    Yes! Ovasitol can help with metabolic issues associated with PCOS like insulin, cholesterol, etc…

  • Leigh Anne Geib

    October 6, 2017 at 7:05 am

    Here’s the link to the group!


    It’s my own little way of being a PCOS advocate!

  • April

    October 7, 2017 at 9:32 am

    Would I be able to take Ovasitol while taking metformin? Pros or cons?

  • Angela Grassi

    October 8, 2017 at 9:00 am

    You can take ovasitol and metformin together. Here is more info about them: http://www.pcosnutrition.com/metforminandinositol/

  • Kawanda

    October 7, 2017 at 10:16 am

    Can ovasitol be taken with other prescriptions like my allergie medicine cetirizine and my hypertension medicine spironolactone? And how offten should this be taken?

  • Angela Grassi

    October 8, 2017 at 8:59 am

    Yes it can!

  • brenda litteral

    November 14, 2017 at 11:03 am

    My 13 year old has been diagnosed with pcos. She has been taking one packet of ovasitol for about a week. Should she take 2 packets a day instead. I started her on just 1 because of her age…

  • Angela Grassi

    November 14, 2017 at 11:06 am

    Yes, if she tolerates it well, she can take 2 packets per day. We have studies that have used insositol, the main ingredient in Ovasitol as young as 8 years of age with no problems.

  • brenda litteral

    November 14, 2017 at 3:02 pm

    Thanks Angela. She is also taking essential oils phytoestrogen. Is it okay to take the phytoestrogen and ovasitol in conjunction?

  • Angela Grassi

    November 15, 2017 at 9:15 am

    yes it is!

  • Paula Chandler

    November 18, 2017 at 8:41 pm

    My granddaughter is 15. She has PCOS, Hypothyroidism, and Hydradenitis Suppurativa. The Gastric Sleeve has been recommended for her. What supplements would you suggest to help her loose weight without this surgery. Would Ovasitol be safe for her?

  • Janine Mosley

    November 19, 2017 at 11:30 am

    Thanks for this article. I just ordered my first pack today. Looking forward to it. I’ve tried inositol in the past, but the digestive symptoms were unpleasant. I’m hoping Ovasitol doesn’t have the same effect. Fingers crossed it works for me as well as you describe. Looking forward to reduced carb cravings and taming the appetite, chin hair and acne are not fun at all.

  • Angela Grassi

    December 6, 2017 at 1:38 pm

    Great Janine! Let us know how you like it!

  • Rachel.Holloway777

    November 27, 2017 at 8:12 am

    I just ordered some today after much research. I am so happy to try it! I will keep everyone posted, from what I see its great!

  • Angela Grassi

    December 6, 2017 at 1:37 pm

    Let us know how you like it Rachel!

  • Alyssa Brawner

    December 14, 2017 at 4:24 pm

    Can you take Ovasitol with other supplements on your website?

  • Angela Grassi

    December 14, 2017 at 5:11 pm

    Hi Alyssa, Yes you can take them all together.

  • Alyssa Brawner

    December 14, 2017 at 9:53 pm

    I just found out I have pcos. My doctor told me to lose 20lbs so I could hopefully conceive. I have never had a regular cycle. What supplements do you suggest trying?

  • Angela Grassi

    December 27, 2017 at 9:11 pm

    Alyssa, definitely check out Ovasitol as well as the other supplements we sell on our website. If you are interested, we do provide a PCOS nutrition supplement consult. Contact us at info@PCOSnutrition.com if you’d like more information. http://www.pcosnutrition.com/store/

  • Lauren

    December 21, 2017 at 9:20 pm

    Is there any way we can get this in Australia? Alternatively, could you please recommend another brand that would more likely be available for international shipping? I have PCOS and am about to come off the pill, and after learning about this product I am much less nervous about it now! I am very keen to have it in my arsenal of PCOS fighting products.
    Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated 🙂

  • Angela Grassi

    December 27, 2017 at 9:10 pm

    Lauren, your best bet is to look for myo inositol.

  • AAH

    December 28, 2017 at 12:22 pm

    Just ordered, very optimistic! Two questions— 1) Any help with hirsutism? That’s my main problem. 2) I take Gabepentin and Piroxicam nightly — can I take this alongside those medications?

  • Angela Grassi

    December 28, 2017 at 2:11 pm

    Great Allison! Let us know how Ovasitol works for you. Yes, it has been shown to reduce testosterone and hirsutism. Yes, you can take with those meds.

  • Sandy

    December 29, 2017 at 1:19 pm

    My Gyno recently diagnosed me with PCOS, I already have a under active thyroid ( I see a different doctor for that) I personally feel that my diagnoses is wrong but have gone ahead and ordered Ovasitol and was wondering if it would have any bad side effects If you take this and don’t have PCOS? All my lab work I recently had done the only test that came back high was my TSH levels so that is why I think my GYNO is wrong about that diagnoses. Any info or advise would be appreciated, Thanks so much 🙂

  • Angela Grassi

    January 9, 2018 at 5:46 pm

    Ovasitol has been shown to help those with type 2 diabetes too. You can try it and see what happens. Trust your gut though if you feel you still may have PCOS, seek the opinion of another doctor.

  • Christine

    January 9, 2018 at 12:57 pm

    I was diagnosed in December 2017, I have always had regular periods. Never missed one actually. Only when I stopped using contraceptives in August, my periods stopped coming and I’ve only had one since then. I need help to get my periods back on track as I want to have my first child. I am currently taking vitex. Can I take them both together?

  • Angela Grassi

    January 9, 2018 at 5:41 pm

    Yes, both can be taken together Christine. Good luck!

  • Christine

    January 10, 2018 at 1:16 pm

    It was only by chance I found this website on PCOS 3 days ago. I have read the articles and now understand what I have been experiencing since age 15. I’m approaching 69.
    Many many thanks. No one talked about these things when I was growing up. I now realise there was a family history with my grandmother, mother and sister all having PCOS. My elder sister has diabetes and I am prediabetic. I’ve been taking Metformin and will up my dose of zinc and magnesium. Yesterday I ordered ovasitol.
    I retired from nursing last year so will be very interested in monitoring my HbA1c and lipids. My main concern is to avoid diabetes and heart disease.
    Again thank you. I’ll be reading your articles with great interest.

  • Angela Grassi

    January 10, 2018 at 1:46 pm

    So happy you found us Christine!

  • Mel

    January 11, 2018 at 7:52 pm

    Hi ,
    i am on 2nd montb ovasitol. it has helped me ovulate as i take bbtand opk and my cycle is now 31 days. i got 2 31 day cycles so far in my 2 months using it. my only issue or concern is that my period seems shorter. i would bleed for 1.5 days and then by end of 2nd day my cycle looks like its ending. Is this normal. without ovasitol i have long irregular cycles with 3 to 5 days periods.

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:38 pm

    Great to hear Mel!

  • Rachel Yorgason

    January 12, 2018 at 1:33 pm

    So I was diagnosed with PCOS a month ago, and live a very active and healthy lifestyle. My mom has PCOS, and birth control is what was able to help her conceive as soon as she went off. I started birth control a month ago, knowing it helped my mom. is it a good idea to still take the birth control and Ovasitol? Or should I just do one or the other?

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:37 pm

    Hi Rachel, good question. It depends on your goals. Many doctors are now using ovasitol in their teen patients first to see if they get a regular cycle. If there are other reasons you are on the pill (for birth control or to control symptoms of PCOS like acne), you may still want to take it. You can take both the pill and ovasitol together. Ovasitol can still work to lower insulin and decrease cravings.

  • Priti

    January 19, 2018 at 11:33 pm

    I am diagnosed with PCOS at the age of 18 yrs, now am 32 and its causing so many health problems. I am losing hair so much that my scalp is very visible. I am taking metformin, vestruda and other multivitamins. Will Ovasitol help me?

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:33 pm

    It may. Talk to your doctor. There could be many reasons for hair loss such as iron loss and hypothyroid.

  • sarah jane cerqua

    January 21, 2018 at 1:01 pm

    why wont you ship to the UK and other countries – other sellers of this product do so i am wondering why you will only ship to canada and america

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:31 pm

    It’s because of customs and taxes. You can find Ovasitol in Europe, we just don’t sell it.

  • Anu

    January 23, 2018 at 5:31 pm

    Can we take Ovasitol and drink 2-3 cups spearmint tea?

  • Angela Grassi

    January 23, 2018 at 8:28 pm

    Yes! A great way to get more antioxidants. Here’s a post about beverages for PCOS and benefits of spearmint tea http://www.pcosnutrition.com/beverages/

  • Marsha

    January 31, 2018 at 10:42 pm

    I normally get my period every 35-40 days. I started taking Ovasitol 2 weeks ago and now my period is late. Has anyone else had the same issue?? I’m wondering if I could be pregnant already??

  • Angela Grassi

    February 2, 2018 at 1:07 pm

    Marsha, Ovasitol has myo inositol and d-chiro inositol which can improve ovulation. It is possible that you are pregnant (fingers crossed!) but other factors may have delayed your period as well such as stress, lack of sleep, diet or exercise changes.

  • mackenzie.ashton15

    February 1, 2018 at 10:15 pm

    Is Ovasitol safe to take along with a prenatal vitamin?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 2, 2018 at 1:06 pm

    yes it is!

  • Shauna

    February 8, 2018 at 9:16 am

    Hi there,
    Is it safe to take Ovasitol and Berberine together or is one better than another for PCOS?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 8, 2018 at 9:38 am

    Yes, you can take berberine and ovasitol together.

  • Anu

    February 8, 2018 at 10:15 am

    Is it safe to take Ovasitol along with progesterone cream?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 8, 2018 at 10:26 am

    Yes, ovasitol is a pseusdovitamin of the vitamin B family and is safe to take with progesterone cream.

  • Clarissa

    February 10, 2018 at 6:32 pm

    Hi I have the implant to help control my periods and stop the progression of my Endometriosis. I can’t stop taking it. Can I still take Ovasitol while having the implant? Will either of them be less effective because of taking it? Thanks so much!

  • Angela Grassi

    February 11, 2018 at 7:43 pm

    yes, you can take ovasitol with an implant. Ovasitol may still help to reduce cravings and metabolic issues.

  • Racine

    February 10, 2018 at 9:20 pm

    I’m in a similar situation to what Paula Chandler below mentioned about her granddaughter – curious in knowing as well. Also, are there any side effects? Metformin makes me very nauseous.

  • Angela Grassi

    February 11, 2018 at 7:45 pm

    Ovasitol is safe and very well tolerated. No supplement is a weight loss pill. Changes to diet and lifestyle need to be made.

  • Stacy

    February 13, 2018 at 1:16 pm

    I have PCOS and have also had a hysterectomy. Is it safe to take this supplement with estradiol? I’m currently using spironolactone but would like to find something safer. I have high testosterone due to it with excess hair and acne but am not insulin resistant. Thank you

  • Angela Grassi

    February 14, 2018 at 2:13 pm

    Yes, you can take Ovasitol if you had a hysterectomy. It has been shown to lower testosterone but may not to the degree of spironolactone.

  • Anil

    February 16, 2018 at 10:40 am

    Hi Angela,

    My wife was diagnosed with PCOS last week by Gyno. She had only four periods last year. She was referred to a hospital for further treatment, and currently we are in the waiting list and it may take over a month to get started with the treatment.

    She does not have insulin resistance, and all her harmone levels are normal. She does not have high levels of male harmones either. She was diagnosed with PCOS by Gyno through Ultra Sound. Her PCOS could very well be because of genetic reasons as her grand mother also had infrequent periods.

    SInce Ovasitol mainly improves body’s/cell’s response to Glucose in the blood, for someone having PCOS not because of insulin resistance, would Ovasitol still help?


  • Angela Grassi

    February 20, 2018 at 9:44 am

    Yes, ovasitol has been shown to improve menstrual cycles.

  • Malar

    February 20, 2018 at 8:28 am

    How I can buy this?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 20, 2018 at 9:43 am

    We sell Ovasitol in both canister and packets on our website with free shipping to orders in the US or Canada http://www.pcosnutrition.com/product/ovasitol/

  • Aubrey

    February 21, 2018 at 1:04 am

    I was just diagnosed with PCOS I am very lean but have mad cravings and bad acne and struggle with infertility and cysts. It looks like this could help but my question is, I have MTHFR which means you don’t process b vitamins like a normal person. Would ovasitol still work for me?

  • Angela Grassi

    February 22, 2018 at 9:15 pm

    Hi Aubrey, yes, Ovasitol is free of folic acid. It is pure inositol.

  • Lisa

    March 1, 2018 at 6:44 pm

    Can I mix Ovasitol with any beverage? Coffee? Tea? Orange Juice or does it have to be water only? Will it still be as effective?

    Thank you

  • Angela Grassi

    March 4, 2018 at 9:44 pm

    Yes, we don’t recommend it with carbonated beverages though (think science volcano experiment)

  • Naomi

    March 4, 2018 at 9:07 pm

    I was diagnosed with PCOS in 2011 during my freshman year in college. I’ve struggled with my weight since before then. I’m looking to buy Ovasitol to help regulate my periods. I’ve been going to the gym and trying to eat healthy. What’s the best diet to follow with taking this and spironolactone?

  • Angela Grassi

    March 4, 2018 at 9:41 pm

    Hi Naomi, Ovasitol can help manage your cravings so you can make better food choices. As for the best diet, we recommend focusing on anti-inflammatory foods. Need recipes and a meal plan? Our PCOS Nutrition Center Cookbook has 100 of them along with a 4-week sample meal plan. http://www.pcosnutrition.com/product/cookbook/

  • Mel

    March 7, 2018 at 6:09 am

    Hi I have been taking ovasitol for about 3 months now. my cycle comes every month which i am grateful for. this month i tested my progeaterone it came back 10.5 so i believe I ovulated. would you say so with that figure?
    my main issue is my actual flow. its brown with some clots but not actaul red blood. very light could get away with liners if i want. what could be the issue? can someone help me understand?

  • Elaine

    March 17, 2018 at 1:37 am

    Can Ovasitol help someone who has PCOS and is in menopause?

  • Angela Grassi

    March 17, 2018 at 8:02 am

    Yes, it can still target the metabolic aspects related to PCOS such as insulin resistance, cholesterol, inflammation and blood pressure.

Get Our Free Guide To Eating Well With PCOS

+ Recipes and PCOS Nutrition Tips
PCOS Nutrition Center

Sign Up!

Get Our Free Guide To Eating Well With PCOS

+ Recipes and PCOS Nutrition Tips
PCOS Nutrition Center